Decluttering My Online Life

clutter-quote-eleanor-brownnWe are having some warmer weather, which has given me some motivation to start some spring cleaning. Not only for our home, but I am extending it to my iPhone, iPads, my Mac, and my overall digital life. Over the years, I’ve managed to create several email addresses, and multiple social media accounts under various usernames. I have stuff in multiple clouds, and photo accounts all over the place. This electronic clutter is time consuming, and anxiety producing. I have blogs under several accounts, and cohesiveness is a huge problem.

So, I am tackling the huge chore of eliminating accounts and email addresses. I say huge because log-in’s, newsletters, and other items are tied to the various email accounts. This means that I have to go through all my accounts, and change email addresses, change log in info, and try not to let anything fall through the cracks.

I also have been using a few various social media names for my Pagan/Wiccan accounts, and that gets confusing. So I’ve decided to settle on the Craft name I came up with in 2006 or so, which is Patchouli Sky. It’s based on my addiction to patchouli, and my love of studying the night sky.

Also, paring down the number of social media accounts is on the horizon. Twitter would have to be the highest priority account. Hopefully, I can make this particular blog which I settled upon number two. I really like Google+, but it has become very quiet there. I hope Google sticks with it, but I have my concerns. I’ve had a love/hate relationship with Tumblr. It’s mostly pictures, and people either liking them or reblogging them. Not much in-depth interaction. Facebook has become relatively unimportant to me. I still have my account, and I see posts by my family, and then it’s mostly Pagan/Wiccan pages and groups I belong to, tech sites, and news sites. I rarely post there. I’ve been thinking of looking for some websites that are strictly Pagan/Wiccan oriented, something like paganspace.net.

I fight myself over clutter all the time. There is a good feeling in looking at an uncluttered room, with lots of clean counter and tabletop space. On the other hand, we have long been a bohemian kind of family, where we like being surrounded by our eclectic collection of stuff. I guess that’s what has happened over the years with my online life. But it’s time to clean house.

As you can see, this is a new blog. Another clean start. I didn’t really want to start out with a recap of my path, so I thought I would just launch right into it. Thanks for reading!

Blessed Be!

 

Leave a Reply

