Choosing Witchcraft Over the Mundane

IMG_0904Recently, I began dismantling my social media life. Not my witchcraft social media life, but my “real life” social media life. I’ve juggled my “real life” and my “witchcraft life” for a long time, and frankly, I’ve spent too much time doing so.

The first casualty was Facebook. I still am on Facebook, but I’ve stopped following most all my “friends,” and only have a core of about 10 people who make it through the filter. I have, however, stopped posting altogether. I got tired of posting stuff that was currently topical, and having no responses at all. But post a picture of the cat, and people are falling all over themselves to “like” or comment. At this point I’m mostly using it as a news aggregator, a portal for witchcraft pages and groups, and seeing family posts. I realize that if people I know stumble on Pagan or Craft groups to which I belong, they will see my name, but I’ve completely stopped caring about that.

Yesterday’s social media casualty was my mundane Twitter account. Not my Craft Twitter, but my personal one. I kind of tried to morph my personal Twitter into my Craft Twitter, but I found myself so hesitant to post about witchcraft and other personal topics, it really handcuffed my posts. My witchcraft Twitter is actually more representative of who I am than my “personal” Twitter account. So instead of trying to maintain both, I opted for @barefootpagan.

I also have my Google+ account, a Flipboard account, and a few other minor accounts. Those are all Wiccan related.

Looking at this situation objectively is proves to be eye-opening. My life is a witchcraft life. For the longest time, I thought there were two aspects to my psyche, but there is no longer a dividing line. I’m simply a witch. It’s taken me 12 years to get to this realization, but there it is.

My witchcraft social media is my absolute freaking lifeline. I’ve mentioned a lot on Twitter about my depression, and communicating with other people who share my interests help keep me on an even keel. The positive posts from Pagans, witches, Wiccans, and others who are sensitive to these issues prove to be personally empowering and encouraging.

The question becomes this: Am I living in a fantasy land? Is it strange that I have limited interest in communicating with my non-witchcraft friends, and prefer communicating with people I’ve never personally met? Perhaps, but there’s real cerebral value in opening oneself up to others who totally get you.

There are some actions I need to take on a social level. I’ve never attended a designated Pagan event. This summer, I hope to find a few that I can attend to get my feet wet. I believe my wife will be open to it, as she has lots of fun in visiting all the Craft and New Age shops we encounter on vacations. The other day, she asked if she could have a particular stone to take to work to give her empowerment. She’ll end up Pagan yet…

I love being a Pagan and a witch. I’ve enjoyed it since 2004. There have been set-backs, friends lost, times of doubt, and some residual loneliness, but the benefits outweigh the negatives.

I would be absolutely more than interested in how other Pagans, witches, and Wiccans deal with all this! Do you feel you have two separate lives, or do you keep your witchcraft close to the vest? Or do you feel empowered or brave enough to let your Pagan flag fly? Has your path caused a chasm between you and your non-Pagan friends? How important is your Pagan social media to you? If you are so moved, please leave a comment. You might help me and others with your thoughts.

Thanks for reading, and Blessed Be!

14 comments

  1. Oh, this is so lovely. I feel so much in common with your words. I actively look for other accounts who support similar ideals and notions. Yours most certainly is worth it’s weight. But, at the beginning of my journey, I wasn’t sure if I was experienced enough, confident enough, or even sure of where I stood with my beliefs, to engage with others openly. I think I took more of a voyeuristic stance on it initially, feeling it out, but have most recently begun to really embrace that which is me. In all my flavors and colors.

    As I do so, I find even more support and community, but it wasn’t without an initial sense of fear and doubt! I cut off FB for the reason that it didn’t/ couldn’t support my journey and process. Instead, I share who I am in various other social platforms that allow me to be truly expressive. Not only for myself, but also because others need the same support/ inspiration I look to them for. So, my intention now: Share to give back to that which has offered and given me so much. I also find that what I post, either written or video, I find that my message benefits me as I create it, and later, as I come upon my posts and see messages I want to be reminded of. It’s easiest to digest when it’s written as I think! I’m thinking is: If it helps me, maybe it can someone else?

    Blessed Be friend.

    Like

    • Thank you for the wonderful comments. I think it’s valuable for those at the beginning of their Pagan/magickal journey to hang back socially, and take it all in for a bit. It lets you survey the landscape. There is no one more surprised at my total witchcraft social media immersion than me. Like your own hesitancy in jumping into soc. media, I’ve been at this for 12 years, and am just now feeling the courage to go to real, live Pagan events and physically rub elbows with others like me. Thank you so much for taking the time to write down your thoughts! Blessed Be!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading this blog post has made me feel so much better! I have felt the same way, to the point where I have my “normal” Facebook and Instagram accounts, then I have my “witchy/pagan” Facebook and Instagram accounts. It’s not that I’m embarrassed or really care all that much if everyone I know knows what I am interested it, it’s more that I don’t feel like answering questions. Before I separated my accounts, I had been liking and following several Wiccan pages, and one day a coworker of mine walked up to me and said, “I have a question for you. Are you a Wiccan?” I was kind of taken aback because I wasn’t ready for that question at all. I don’t label myself Wiccan or a witch, but more a smash up of all Pagan things along those lines. I was afraid I’d come across more questions, so I separated my two worlds. I have recently started to regret this decision (mostly because I have to toggle back and forth between accounts). It’s something I’m becoming more and more comfortable with as a part of who I am, and I now have my husband more on board with it and he now knows it’s never going to go away. We are actually going to celebrate Lammas together later tonight.
    Anyway, thank for your post! It really hit home.

    Like

    • Thanks for posting your experiences. I’m sorry it took so long to respond. I’ve been working on another blog, but this morning I felt pulled toward this blog. Your comments have inspired a blog post, so I think it will serve as a reply to your thoughtful comments. Blessed Be.

      Like

      • My reply to him was something like, “well, no not exactly. I don’t necessarily label myself ‘Wiccan’ because I’d have to be actively practicing it to do so. I just really love everything that has to do with paganism and wiccans, so I like, share, post, and try to participate in a lot of things that have to do with it”. He has asked me about it again recently and I just think it’s nice that someone cares enough to have questions.

        Like

  3. I really enjoyed your post alot,yes i have many different accounts as well.I was born a witch but choose to follow christianity and didnt recognize my special gifts as a witch, and it caught up to me in 2012 and since then have grown leaps and bounds, i am in several private messenger study groups where we teach each other. no followers only teachers and leaders and we learn from each other.Lately have been studying the universal laws of the universe and the natural laws and how energy flows through everything that is around us, the nwfre which the universe is made up of and sustains us and is the universe and as well one can take just one finger of focused energy and do amazing things for its like putting your finger in water and there are vibrations forr as the ripple affectys sends our messages and affects all things around us through these vibrations wave lengths and frequences.would love your feed back.
    Blessed be loved all your comments

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting. I am finding it increasingly important for me to surround myself, at least online, with other Pagans and witches. I have gone back and forth on my mundane & witchcraft Facebook page, but find more enjoyment and satisfaction with the witchcraft account. I find myself going further and further down the magical rabbit hole.

      Like

  4. Great post, very thought provoking.
    I’ve gone through the same discovery in the past few months, and have finally stopped denying who and what I truly am. It is great to see people, online or otherwise acknowledge their true self and be less afraid to show it. I myself am still a bit afraid of being stigmatized, but that fear is slowly decreasing as my faith in the universe expands. Perhaps by being our ‘true selves’ our path in life becomes clearer since we no longer have to constantly monitor the division between our witch-life and public life, and the laws of attraction will then lead us and lead to us those of a similar mindset. How wondrous that we can all connect through social media/blogs. For me, it’s been a great help 🙂 Looking forward to your other posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I spent most of my nearly 13 years as a witch in the closet. I’ve come out of the closet as a Pagan, & that feels good. I’ll probably never come out completely as a witch, & perhaps that’s ok. Blogging lets me lay it all out there, and connect with people like me. Sometimes I think I’m too open through this medium, but I’ve decided to let the blog be my stream of consciousness. You will see lots of my psychological struggles laid out here, but we all have them, so I think this helps us connect. Thanks for your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I discovered Wicca a little over a decade ago, and it started me on a path that meandered quite a bit. For the longest time I didn’t claim the title of Wiccan but instead simply told others I was a spiritualist. I was, and am, drawn to Wicca, but my studies ranged from that root to Tao, shamanism, and hoodoo as I searched for my true path. I recently returned to my roots, partly because my boyfriend has expressed interest, but mostly because lately I’ve felt lost. It wasn’t until I read this post that I actually understood why. I don’t have much in the way of social media accounts, but with the couple I have I’very always refrained from liking or posting anything to do with the path. I’m not even part of any groups. As a writer I was once part of a group that was fairly close, and we all had commonalities. This post has reminded me how important it is to not only be part of a group that is like-minded, but to also be true to yourself. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I found and met others like me through meetup.com and wound up enjoying several circles and making several friends that way. We are all solitary practitioners but we join up at least once a month to enjoy each others company, get new perspective, and just not feel completely alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

