Using Witchcraft to Banish Regret

093853EE-EB63-420B-AD2C-1FE3E42D7FC4It is far easier to preach, rather than practice. The old saying, “Do what I say, not what I do,” has been around for a long time, and has even more relevance in the internet era. I suspect there are lots of “internet experts,” who talk a mean game, but actually practice very little of what they counsel others to do.

In my blogs, I try to be brutally honest. I can’t imagine going on about stuff I’ve never done, or at least attempted to do. I do post about things I’d like to do, but haven’t quite been able to achieve.

At various times, I’ve struggled with my spirituality, depression, and motivation to do all the things I’d like to do or accomplish. But I’m getting better, and things like this blog, and the connections I’ve made with others through social media, who are in similar circumstances, have been of great help.

For the last few years, we have embraced decluttering. Much of it has been physical decluttering, but that has mental implications. Unburdening oneself of physical items, unburdens the mind. It creates a kind of zen calm.

I’ve been reading a lot lately about decluttering the mind of the past. Looking back can be enjoyable at times. It’s why we all take photographs. But looking back at past mistakes, constantly analyzing your life, mulling over your regrets can be extremely unhealthy.

Like a lot of people, I digitalized all my old photos. In doing so, I was able to relive happy times through photographs that have sat in the bottom of boxes for ages. However, another byproduct was churning up past times that led to memories that were not so good. Memories that led to a lot of “what ifs.”

So I’ve worked hard an not repeating that behavior. I now look at the photos as a snapshot in time, thinking about the joy of the moment in the photos, rather than using them as a means to project those what ifs and regrets.

My current life phase, which began about a quarter century ago, is my focus. And while my life does not reflect the hopes and dreams of my life prior to that, there is absolutely no way I can go back in time and change that. No amount of mulling over the past, wracking my brain with regrets will change anything in the past. So I strive to let it go.

Embracing Paganism and Wicca over a dozen years ago, showed me that I can move on from my past and embrace new ideas, new concepts, and even accept an entirely new belief system. Interestingly, I have never had a moment of regret when it comes to dismissing my birth spirituality, and adopting a witchcraft spiritual path. It demonstrates that leaving the past behind mentally is possible.

Witchcraft is a springboard to new heights, whereas mulling over past regrets and mistakes is a ladder to the depths of depression. Soaring metaphorically on that broomstick is the best thing I can do for myself. Staying open to new ideas and possibilities has lifted my spirit, and has served as a means of leaving the past behind.

I believe this is why I’ve become so much less concerned with hiding my Craft path. Outwardly labeling myself as “Pagan” has been freeing. Let people think what they want past that, as I owe them no explanations. Just writing that word in various bio’s is empowering.

From reading lots of blogs and being present on social media, I know a fair number of Pagans and witches struggle with depression. I’m not an expert by any means, but I would urge you to lean on your magical spirituality, hold tightly to your path less traveled by others, open your mind even further to the possibilities of the future a belief in witchcraft affords you. Use divination, meditation, tarot or other means to look to the future, while leaving the past behind. Accept the possibilities and power of magick, even if you have some doubts about the logic of it, and use it to channel energy to propel you to a promising future. Use it to banish the guilt or regrets of the past. Use it to power your here and now.

The path and practices of witchcraft are tool of empowerment.True witches know that we can’t make a pot of gold or a job suddenly appear. But we can use our knowledge of manipulating energy through magick to empower ourselves. That, in turn, can lead to other great things happening in our future. Stop asking others for power, and create your own. Witchcraft puts the power in your hands, not that of a god or goddess, not of others, but your hands. Use it to banish the past, and to give you hope for the future.

Blessed Be

One comment

  1. Becoming a witch has been absolutely the best thing for my depression, it gives me a wonderful way to handle the root causes of my depression.
    Honestly I don’t know were I would be now if I didn’t take this path.
    Probably six feet under…

    Meno

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

