October, Gothic Witch Rebirth!

img_0808Well, it’s October. Every year, starting about late August, you will see the “dreaming about autumn and October” posts start going viral, especially from those in the Pagan/witchcraft community. I try not to get caught up in it, because I see that as wishing my life away. And conversely, about February, you will see the “spring is coming” posts begin to appear. We all tend to like new seasons, but seem to have enough of them when a seasonal change is somewhat in sight.

I enjoy October, November and December. I like it even more since 2004, when I began my Wiccan life. Wicca reawakened my hippie side, but it also brought forth my goth side. My surroundings at home, my taste in music, films, literature, and art, now heavily reflect my goth personality. So obviously, the ambiance of October appeals to me greatly.

Every year, by the end of the summer, I find myself feeling decidedly less witchy than any other time of the year. There are so many diversions in the summer, which tend to steal away time for witchcraft related activities such as rituals, spell work, and meditation.

But with the first hint of cooler nights, leaves turning and dropping, and the appearance of pumpkins, I’m reinvigorated. Recently, I tried using tea lights as God and Goddess altar candles, and that didn’t sit well with me. Just wasn’t feeling it. So a couple of weeks ago, I ordered my favorite black candles from Soma Luna in Indiana, and now, as October begins, I’m back to my customary gothic altar.

Clothing wise, and politically, I default to hippie. However, since about 2006, my mindset is uniquely goth. It is strongest in the months of October through March. By April, I’m ready to shed a bit of the darkness, and let some Spring light in. Well, not in the master bedroom. With heavy velvet black-out curtains, light rarely finds it’s way in our most gothic of rooms….

So happy October everyone! I know all my witch friends are excited, as we look forward to Samhain. Just be careful, all the vampires really like this time of year too!

Happy October, and Blessed Be!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

