Posted in Living Simply, magick, Paganism, Spells, Wicca

Witchcraft Clutter

img_1509The other day we had some plumbing work done in our bathrooms. To prepare for that, we had to remove everything from beneath and on top of the vanities. I must say that it is truly amazing just how much crap you can accumulate in an under-the-sink cabinet, and how used you can get to a cluttered bathroom countertop.

After the work was finished, I cleaned the countertop, and stood back. I was struck by how good it looked, and perhaps more importantly, how great it felt to have a countertop with only a soap dish on it. Also, only about half of the stuff I took out from the cabinet needed to go back in. Forced decluttering, but the results were, for the lack of a better word, freeing.

After seeing that, I looked over at my altar, and saw a cluttered mess. Now, it can get that way during rituals or spells, but it doesn’t need to be that way on a daily basis. So I proceeded to tidy it up. I may not be finished, but I think it (pictured above) looks quite calming now.

We’ve been decluttering for several years now, and we’ve made some good progress. However, we still end up with cluttered countertops in the kitchen and on table tops. The kitchen is a problem spot for us. We need to steel ourselves mentally, and become ruthless in our elimination process. Those pesky, “we may need this someday” thoughts are hard to overcome, when you are thinking about getting rid of things you spent good money on at Crate & Barrel or Pottery Barn. However, I’m not sure we need 30 martini glasses or wine glasses. Our collection of kitchen gadgets is impressive, but we use about 10% of them. We have 5 junk drawers with lots of those “we made need this someday” items.

Through the years, we were buyers, gatherers, and collectors. That spilled over to my witchcraft life. However, there are lots of things I keep that may come in handy in spells. Pieces of twine, ribbon, dried flower petals, dried herbs, finger and toenail clippings, empty bottles with lids, coins, keys, and other stuff.

So I’ve found there is a balance needed with clutter in witchcraft. I’m now striving for an uncluttered look on the surface, but behind those cabinet doors, there is a wealth of clutter in the form of witchcraft supplies. Twelve year old black pepper essential oil may not be very helpful medicinally (though it probably is ok), but it is perfectly fine for magickal rituals or spells. That bottle of nail clippings will come in handy for protective witch bottles, as will that jar of old nails, screws, razor blades, and old candle stubs.

Life is a balancing act, as is everyday clutter. Witchcraft clutter though, at least hidden behind closed doors or drawers, is a necessity.

How do you manage your witchcraft supplies? Do you keep lots of things, just in case you may need them? Leave a comment and let me know!

Thanks for reading, and Blessed Be!

 

Author:

Adult male Pagan, goth, Dionysian witch. I enjoy working with essential oils, herbs, stones, crystals, candles, incense. I've been practicing in the early 2000's. I have interests in social media, science, the environment, liberal politics and causes, and the occult.

3 thoughts on “Witchcraft Clutter

  1. I feel ya! I’m the exact same way, that I may use it sometime question seems to haunt me to.
    When I started trying to throw stuff out, I came up with a counter to that. “if I have not seen it or used it in the last 6 months then I probably won’t” it works well but my witchcraft “stuff” is more sentimental and I don’t like to throw out that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate. In witchcraft, pretty much anything can be used for spells and potions so it’s difficult to know what to throw out!
    On another note, I’ve nominated you for the 2016 Liebster Award. You can find the details at my blog. Thanks for your posts!

    Like

  3. I keep lots of stuff, I find I usually end up using it at some point. I’m better now though about not hoarding other not witchcraft related things, whilst thinking, I might need this some day. It takes daily discipline really, no easy task…

    Meno<3

    Like

Leave a Reply

