Wiccan Roots Run Deep

C4unZCuVMAAJIarIt’s been almost half a month since I last wrote. I needed a bit of reflection time away from witchcraft. I had reached burnout stage earlier in the month, as witnessed by my “I’m gonna walk away from all this” post on March 8th then, deciding against it a couple of days later. Apparently the mental stress affected my physical health, as I had a flare of a recurring immune system problem, followed by an upper respiratory cold, which is just now subsiding.

In the middle of all that, I did plan on walking away from it for an extended period of time. In fact, I went through all my magickal supplies, and purged a lot of garden grown dried herbs. Many were old, and probably didn’t hold much magical power anymore. I had dozens of empty glass jars, and they all got recycled.

In the above photo on the left, you can get a sense of what it was like prior to the purge, and the photo on the right was taken today.

 

Interestingly, I felt a lot better after decluttering my supplies. I knew it needed to be done, but I hate to toss magickal stuff, even if it is time to do so. I began reflecting on the decision to leave Wicca behind, and I realized that I was leaving a path that had defined rituals, which helped keep me focused on witchcraft spirituality. The move to cottage witchery without Wicca had left me a bit lost, and it was so easy to blow off anything to do with witchcraft for days upon end. I hadn’t done that since I started in 2004!

I also decided to go back to the basics and start casting circles. I hadn’t done that for quite some time, but it really is the preferred way to do workings in Wicca. First, I had to reassemble my altar, which had become a table for candles. I decided to go with a simple, decluttered altar. Today I started consecrating tools, dressing & consecrating new God and Goddess candles, and burning home-made incense for the first time in ages and ages. Below is a photo of today’s working in progress.

IMG_2292

I’ve got some work ahead of me. I need to assemble a standard ritual for myself, deciding on what circle casting and quarters calling I want to do. I have always used the Egyptian pantheon, specifically Isis and Osiris in my rituals. I’ve long been interested in a shift to the Celtic pantheon. I’m also ready to move away from black candles for awhile, but white and black pillars are all I have right now. One step at a time.

So it seems I’ve come full circle. The structure of Wicca is important to me at this time in my spiritual life. I was floundering a bit, and this seems to be the best solution.

I promise that this will be the last of my dark night of the soul posts. I hope to lighten the mood considerably. If I do attempt to move to a Celtic pantheon, that in itself should be good for some laughs….

Thanks for reading, and Blessed Be!

3 comments

  1. Thank you for a very honest post. I understand you, sometimes it’s hard to go on, the meaning evaporates, one is lost, confused, deluded.. not just with wicca, but generally with daily stress etc. Interesting how when you started cleaning the stuff, you felt to set up the altar again and ground yourself. (That is my impression.) Good luck, take it easy. One step at a time. It does not have to be perfect. Maybe now you come out of the crisis stronger and with deeper insights. I don’t know you and absolutely don’t mean to judge, I am rather talking from my own experience 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m in the same stage in my spiritual life. After a great absence from Witchcraft I felt I could jump back in. But I took a step back instead looking at a perspective as if I know nothing. I think I’m learning more now and slowly integrating things better than I was before. I’m concentrating on one subject at a time, concentrating on learning just that aspect, before moving on. There is a great difference for me. Thanks for posting. Now I don’t feel like I’m the only one 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

