181 Day Horror Movie Marathon

fhd996scr_drew_barrymore_002It’s been awhile since I wrote here. I’ve decided to branch out in what I cover here. That way I’ll have more opportunity to post, which hopefully will be a good thing.

For the past few years, I have had a Halloween/Samhain ritual of watching at least 1 horror movie every day in October. It was fun, as I was able to revisit old favorites, and unearth (slight pun intended) new finds. If you enjoy the horror film genre, you are surely aware that there are tons from which to choose, and lots of stinkers out there. So it’s an adventure just navigating all the choices.

I tend to choose atmospheric horror movies over gore. I’m not a big fan of stuff like “Saw” or slasher type films. Love the original “Halloween,” but things got bloodier from there. I was happy when movies like “The Ring” and “The Sixth Sense” caught on so well.

I’m also partial to classsic B horror films that you can find on TCM. Also like vampire, witchcraft, supernatural, satanic, and hauntings films. I’m open to most stuff, just not people getting cut in half or that kind of thing.

I found myself watching a couple of horror movies a few days ago. It was then that I got the bright idea of starting my quest in May. Last year I began on September 1st. So I looked it up, and there are 181 days between May 4th and October 31st inclusive. That’s 25 weeks & 6 days.

So my quest is to watch at least one horror film every day for 181 days. Obviously, I will miss a day or so here, but I will make up for it by having days in which I watch multiple films. I will post these under the category of 181 Days of Horror Films. The posts will be relatively short. I’m looking forward to the challenge, and I hope you get a kick out of it too. Please feel free to post any thoughts about the movies I watch! I will also list what network or streaming service on which I watched them.

Catching up on what I’ve watched so far:

May 4th

The Disappointments Room (2016) – (Netflix) So-so, mildly entertaining, a total vehicle for Kate Beckinsale. Without her, it wouldn’t have held up at all. I got the feeling there was more to the movie that was cut out due to time constraints.

Scream (1996) – (Netflix) – An old favorite, and I’m fairly certain you’ve seen it.

May 5th

I Am The Pretty Thing That Lives In The House (2016) (Netflix) This was a Netflix Production. It is an artsy, stylistic Gothic horror film by Anthony Perkins’ son Oz. Small cast, well acted. If you are looking for huge scares or conventional horror, this is not the film for you.

Salem – (2014) (Netflix) I am making my way through this series about witchcraft. Just an added bonus. I can take this in small doses.

So that catches you up. I’m watching a weird one right now, and I’ll post about it later. Thanks for reading!

Blessings.

 

4 comments

    • I’m just hoping it doesn’t fall into the trap that so many series do. They start out innovative & interesting, but end up devolving into a soap opera. Scandal on ABC is a good example of that phenomenon.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly. (Which is why I am hesitant to get started with any series.) You know — I started watching Scandal but after a while it just lost me… I could not even follow all the dumb scandals lol!!

        Like

  1. The only Halloween-themed movie I watch in October is Hocus Pocus. That’s about my limit; I’m a huge scaredy-cat. My in-laws love scary movies though, so I’ll definitely take note of your recommendations.

    Like

Leave a Reply

