Horror Movie Marathon Update

An update on my 181 Days of Horror Movies quest.

463621594_1280x720

May 6th – The Unwanted (2014) (Netflix) – Well, this was an unusual horror movie. It was billed as a vampire movie, but I didn’t really see any vampirism in the film. One of the main characters alluded to “her kind,” but it seemed more to be about people into blood play. There is a definite lesbian aspect to the movie, and one might even think it was incestuous. There were angry comments on the Netflix website, by people who thought the film should be listed in gay/lesbian films, not horror. William Katt channels Bruce Dern in this film. I told my wife that I wished I could talk to the writer, so they could explain the film to me. An interesting film, but I wouldn’t watch it again.

download

May 7th – Wynonna Earp (2016) (Netflix) – This is a series that ran/is running on SyFy channel. I thought it would be hokey, but it is actually very watchable. Wynonna Earp is the great granddaughter of Wyatt Earp, and she slays demons, who were people originally killed by Wyatt Earp. The characters are likable, the special effects are decent, and the plots are entertaining. This is a Canadian series.

I know TV series aren’t exactly movies, but I figure if I watch hours and hours of a series, I’m going to count it as a film!

swarm-main

May 8th – The Swarm  (1978) (TCM) – I’m in the middle of this show as I write this. This is an awful movie from Irwin Allen, who gave us “The Towering Inferno” and many other disaster movies. This is about killer bees, and it has a who’s who of stars from the 50’s, 60’s & 70’s. This was one of Michael Caine’s “paycheck” movies, that he did only for the $$. Cult horror from the 50’s and 60’s might be compared to this, but they are Academy Award winning films compared to this goofy stuff. Henry Fonda couldn’t even class this one up. Thumbs down.

Thanks for reading and dark blessings to you!

*All art found on Google

3 comments

    • Christine, I remember seeing Airport and The Poseidon Adventures in theaters when they came out. Yes, I’m old.. They were unique and it was fun to see all the stars. But yeah, when those movies just kept coming, the plots were non-existent, and they were driven by the concern of how will we get screen time for all these actors! Luckily, “Airplane” came out and made fun of all those movies, and it was funny. Peace.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

