Posted in Depression, Everyday Life, Hippie, Living Simply, Wicca

Hippie Wicca! Part II

75c8e6cc4b8e1108bfe2e86ab29a8b03Somebody left a comment on a past post the other day. The post was Hippie Wicca! from April. The comment led me to reread the post, which was basically the final post in a series of posts about losing my way spiritually, and what I went through to rediscover it.

I was thinking about that post this morning, early this morning about 2AM, which is just about the hour I usually wake up because of some nocturnal anxiety, and contemplate my lot in life. I couldn’t get back to sleep so I grabbed my iPad and read through Flipboard, which is my go-to news aggregator. As I read article after article about the sorry state of politics in the U.S., that post kept coming back into my mind.

It eventually dawned on me that I hadn’t taken Hippie Wicca far enough in my life. It’s true that I’ve settled into a hippie Wiccan mindset. I’ve been better at performing rituals, spells, and prayers. I’ve inched my way into some meditations, and I’ve resolved to learn tarot. I’ve become an earth husband at home, using homemade & green cleaning supplies. I make all my own body care products, I ditched liquid soap for bar soap, I have used only water to wash my face for the past year, and am in the horrid phase of water only hair washing.

I’m a happier person overall, but I’m still having anxiety & depression issues. That’s where I hope that more hippie will help. Politics has weighed heavily on me since Obama became President, with all the abuse he received. Now with Trump, that weight has grown dramatically on my mind. I read all the political articles, and I become incensed, and then I’m on to the next article. It’s a vicious cycle.

One of my grown children once imparted some advice to me. She doesn’t read much news, and it has helped lower her anxiety by leaps and bounds. It’s not that she isn’t aware of what’s happening in the world, she simply doesn’t seek it out, nor dwell on it.

So I started thinking about that this morning. She has a point. I’ve found myself reading articles and furiously writing comments, or ranting about them on Twitter or Facebook. I’m pretty sure more than 1/2 of my Facebook friends have stopped following me. And where has this gotten me? Waking up in 2AM panics, that’s where.

I made the decision that I’m going to unfollow most of my political accounts on Facebook & Twitter. I’m going to stay away from people who mostly rant about it constantly. My obsession with this, my hundreds of posts have done nothing but affect me negatively. You don’t change anyone’s mind, you simply shout out into the ether.

This will free up lots of time for me to increase my time meditating, learning tarot, reading all those books I’ve been meaning to get to, and just spending more time being a witch. It will also give me more time for family, and friends.

I’ve changed the world in small ways. I’ve driven less, used less, recycled, reused, and repurposed. I have enlightened others about this, and have some happy converts. Those hippie-like changes I’ve made, and continue to make, do 1000 times more good than all the ranting on social media and to anyone who will listen.

More hippie, more Wicca!

Thanks for reading, and Blessed Be!

Author:

Adult male Pagan, Dionysian cottage witch. I enjoy working with essential oils, herbs, stones, crystals, candles, incense. I've been practicing in the early 2000's. I have interests in social media, science, the environment, liberal politics and causes, and the occult.

4 thoughts on “Hippie Wicca! Part II

  1. I get most of my news through the radio (NPR) especially when I ride with my husband. I try not to let the news bother me. I have a generalized anxiety disorder. When I feel very anxious one day, I feel depressed the next. I try not to let it bother me, but it’s so sad what’s going on now.

    We’re a bit green too. We have a heat pump and an air ventilator. We recycle and bring bottles back. We drive hybrids. I’d like to take it to the next level and make most of what we need at the ole homestead. Or at least buy organic more often (although, both of us do not make a lot of money and we’re both in school).

    Anyway, I love your blog! And I look forward to reading more posts!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your kind words. Glad to hear that you are working toward a greener lifestyle. It’s not always easy, and sometimes it’s actually more expensive. I only wish I had started this way, way earlier in life! Blessed Be!

      Like

  2. Hi, I really enjoyed reading this, I’m going through a similar thing myself at the moment.
    I’m in the UK and we just had our general elections, once again electing a very right-wing government. Similar to yourself it’s occurred to me that all following politics has done is cause me stress, the news is like a neverending source of negativity and meanwhile I’ve been neglecting my spiritual practice. So I’m taking a break from it all, maybe not forever, but for now at least.

    As always, I love the blog!
    I wish you well on your journey of learning the Tarot. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

