Paradigm Shift: A New Witchcraft Life

paradigm-562x316

Back in November, I began writing about immersing myself in witchcraft, leaving my interest in politics and other bothersome interests behind. I saw this as a means to both deepen my witchcraft practice, and to stay sane. I’ve been mildly successful in doing this, but not to the extent that I had hoped.

So eight months later, I am renewing my efforts to live in a witchcraft world of my own making. It’s not a fantasy world, rather it is an effort to shake the dust of a somewhat broken life, and to concentrate on what brings me joy.

I find myself, a bit past midlife, with fewer friends than I had imagined I would have at this stage of my life. Many were made during a time when we had some vices in common, which we don’t share now. What remains are a few old friends and immediate family.

Other than my family, this witchcraft path I’ve been on for 13 years is the most important thing in my life. I didn’t think that was true, but I’ve tried walking away from it a couple of times, and I was just miserable. Because of this, social media plays a large role in my life. Not having a noticeable witchcraft/Pagan community where I live, I turn to my brothers and sisters of the Craft who reside in my virtual world.

What I see happening is that my life is about being a witch. That is the world in which I choose to reside. My old life peaks in at times, but largely I’m in  a witchcraft world of my own making. I can understand that a psychologist might find this unhealthy. They would probably counsel me that it’s a healthier concept to blend witchcraft into my everyday life.

However, the focus of my life has flipped. Witchcraft has changed most everything about my life. Now, rather than try to fit witchcraft into my old life, I find it more advantageous to forge a new life, bringing in a few important remnants of my old life.

I won’t lie, this can be lonely. But to be honest, I feel like I’ve gotten a jump-start on my next life that would come via reincarnation. I’ve taken what I learned, and made the appropriate adjustments. My family and a few old friends have been unwittingly dragged into this new paradigm. But honestly, very few other things made the quantum leap with me.

This topic is too big for one post, so I’ll end this here. I’d like to expound upon this in future posts. I think there might be a lot of people in similar circumstances. It would be awesome to connect with them, or to hear the opinion of others.

Blessings to you all. Thanks for reading!

4 comments

  1. I appreciate your blog and often search out your posts. As I am still floundering between my old spiritual life and the new, I find comfort in reading what you say.

    Like

  2. Your paradigm is inspirational, mostly because I know so many of us struggle with blending, or even forging a new path and a new life. I myself am struggling with how my life and witchcraft come together – having two children under 10 years of age inspires me to practice and teach them, as well as it confuses and, some days, stresses me out. I’ve always felt like I wasn’t witch enough, like I wasn’t doing it right. I am slowly learning, after my 27 years on this planet and being raised in a witchy household, that instead of tailoring my craft or live to the other, I need to just do a bit of trailblazing to find my place.

    I love reading your posts. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting! Having come to the Craft after my kids were out on their own, I never had to worry about how to include them in the mix. Having been raised in a Craft home, I would imagine that gives you a bit of a formula on how to proceed. I’m sure there are many, many people who have a similar situation as yourself. Actually, I’m surprised I don’t see more blogs by Pagan/witch parents, documenting their trials and tribulations with having a Pagan household. I look forward to hearing about your progress! Thank you for the kind words. Blessed Be!

      Like

Leave a Reply

